Real Minero

... is the brand of the Ángeles family from Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca, which is the fourth generation to produce Mezcal. The family business goes back to great-grandfather Don Francisco Ángeles.

 

 

At the time of the great-grandfather, Mezcal production was illegal and was therefore carried out far away in the open field using locally available techniques. Learning from him was his grandson, Don Lorenzo Ángeles, who passed away in 2016 and became the defining character of Real Minero. To this day, Lorenzo is considered one of the best distillers of his generation, and his Mezcals a style-setter.

 

Today, Lorenzo's son Edgar is the master distiller at Palenque La Concepción — or palenquero, as they say locally — and his sister Graciela is responsible for sales and everything that represents Real Minero to the outside world.

 

In addition, at least two other sisters, Adriana (sales) and Miriam (bottling), work regularly at the company. Graciela's innovative role as both a woman and the head of a family business in Mexico's male-dominated Mezcal world cannot be emphasized enough.

 

When asked if her mother takes on a specific task in the business, she answers in the negative, but points out that the daughters' work would be impossible without their mother's help.

 

The Mezcal style, known as Minero, is a local subcategory of agave spirits from Oaxaca. It is characterized, above all, by the use of ceramic stills, which are exclusively common in Santa Catarina Minas. In addition, many wild agaves and agave blends are distilled. Due to the elaborate technology, production is comparatively low (usually 50 to 200 liters per distillation), but the result is absolutely stunning. Genuine Mineros are certainly among the best unaged spirits in the world.

 

 

An outstanding feature of Real Minero is the precision of the processing from the very first step. This begins with the breeding and selection of the young plants, which are produced by the Ángeles themselves, see below (Proyecto LAM). In the earth pit oven, the agaves are conscientiously assembled and not just thrown in. For the mash, each piece of cooked agave is carefully inspected and tasted if necessary. All operations are considered for the best possible result, regardless of effort or cost.

 

A tour of the Real Minero distillery on Mezcal Reviews

 

 

In addition to Mezcal production, the Ángeles family volunteers their time to local social causes.

 

For example, Graciela initiated the construction of a library in Santa Catarina Minas, which was carried out with volunteer labor and donations. This project became an important point of contact in Corona times for children from the village who do not have their own Internet access or device. In Mexico, schools are still closed (end of 2020) and teaching is done via the Internet.

 

With the Proyecto Lorenzo Ángeles Mendoza (Proyecto LAM), the family runs one of the most ambitious sustainability projects in the Mezcal world. In an agave nursery, rare wild agaves are grown alongside woody and medicinal plants from the region. This is a local and adapted response to the increasing demand for Mezcal, which also makes the sustainable production of firewood imperative. The special feature is the generative propagation of the agaves, i.e. from seeds. This avoids monocultures and preserves the livelihood of pollinators, namely bats. The work is based on the operation of botanical gardens and is accompanied by a biologist. It is financed by donations and the contributions from visits to the nursery by tourists.

 

 

A tour of the Proyecto LAM

 

In addition, Real Minero is one of the few distilleries that actively trains young people.

 

The family motto: “porque sólo lo auténtico perdura” — Because only the genuine outlasts!

 

Real Minero in SHOP

 

Real Minero on the Web:

Home

Maps

Street View

 

Articles

Mezcal Reviews

The Guardian (with Film)

Fotograf Salvador Cueva

Mezcal PHD on distillery visit

Vogue Mexico about Graciela

Food & Wine about Graciela and other women in the mezcal business

 

Image & Sound

Video by GuildSomm a.o. with Lorenzo Ángeles (engl./ 10 min.)

Private Video about the distillery (span./ 30min)

Video by Vogue about Graciela and women in the distillery (span./ 2min)

Video Interview with Lorenzo Ángeles in 2017 (span./ 30min)

Showdevie Podcast with Graciela Ángeles (engl.)

 

Futher Projects

Proyecto Lorenzo Ángeles Mendoza (LAM)

Biblioteca El Rosario

Film about the library

Real Minero

…. ist die Marke der Familie Ángeles aus Santa Catarina Minas, Oaxaca, welche in vierter Generation Mezcal herstellt. Der Familienbetrieb geht auf Urgroßvater Don Francisco Ángeles zurück.

 

 

Zur Zeit des Urgroßvaters war die Mezcalproduktion illegal und wurde deshalb mit lokal verfügbaren Techniken weit entfernt auf offenem Feld ausgeführt. Von ihm lernte sein Enkel, Don Lorenzo Ángeles, der 2016 verstarb und der prägende Charakter von Real Minero wurde. Bis heute gilt Lorenzo als einer der besten Brenner seiner Generation und seine Mezcals als stilbildend.

 

Heute ist Lorenzos Sohn Edgar der Brennmeister im Palenque La Concepción – oder palenquero, wie man vor Ort sagt – und seine Schwester Graciela verantwortlich für Vertrieb und alles, was Real Minero nach außen repräsentiert.

 

Außerdem arbeiten mindestens noch zwei weitere Schwestern, Adriana (Vertrieb) und Miriam (Abfüllung), regelmäßig im Betrieb. Die innovative Rolle Gracielas als Frau und gleichzeitig Chefin eines Familienbetriebes in der männerdominierten Mezcalwelt Mexikos kann nicht genug herausgestellt werden.

 

Auf die Frage, ob ihre Mutter eine bestimmte Aufgabe im Betrieb übernimmt, verneint sie, weist aber darauf hin, dass die Arbeit der Töchter ohne die Hilfe der Mutter unmöglich wäre.

 

Der als Minero bezeichnete Mezcalstil ist eine lokale Unterkategorie der Agavenbrände aus Oaxaca. Er zeichnet sich vor allen Dingen durch die Verwendung von Keramikbrennblasen aus, wie sie in Santa Catarina Minas ausschließlich üblich sind. Darüber hinaus werden viele Wildagaven und Agavenmischungen gebrannt. Durch die aufwändige Technik ist die Produktion vergleichsweise gering (in der Regel 50 bis 200 Liter pro Brennvorgang), das Ergebnis aber absolut umwerfend. Echte Mineros gehören mit Sicherheit zu den besten ungelagerten Bränden weltweit.

 

 

Eine herausragende Besonderheit bei Real Minero ist die Präzision der Verarbeitung vom ersten Schritt an. Dies beginnt bei der Nachzucht und Auswahl der Jungpflanzen, die von den Ángeles selbst produziert werden, siehe unten (Proyecto LAM). Im Erdofen werden die Agaven gewissenhaft zusammengebaut und nicht nur hineingeworfen. Für die Maische wird jedes Stück gekochter Agaven genau inspiziert und gegebenenfalls verkostet. Alle Vorgänge werden auf das bestmögliche Ergebnis hin betrachtet, unabhängig vom Aufwand oder den Kosten.

 

Ein Rundgang durch die Real Minero-Brennerei auf Mezcal Reviews

 

 

Neben der Mezcalproduktion widmet sich die Ángeles-Familie ehrenamtlich sozialen Belangen vor Ort.

 

So hat Graciela den Bau einer Bibliothek in Santa Catarina Minas angestoßen, der mit ehrenamtlicher Arbeit und Spenden ausgeführt wurde. Dieses Projekt wurde in Coronazeiten ein wichtiger Anlaufpunkt für Kinder aus dem Dorf, die keinen eigenen Internetzugang oder –gerät haben. In Mexiko sind die Schulen nach wie vor geschlossen (Ende 2020) und es wird per Internet unterrichtet.

 

Mit dem Proyecto Lorenzo Ángeles Mendoza (Proyecto LAM) betreibt die Familie eines der ehrgeizigsten Nachhaltigkeitsprojekte in der Mezcalwelt. In einer Agaven-Baumschule werden neben seltenen Wildagaven auch Gehölze und Medizinalpflanzen der Region nachgezogen. Dies ist eine lokale und angepasste Antwort auf die steigende Nachfrage nach Mezcal, die auch die nachhaltige Produktion von Feuerholz zwingend erforderlich macht. Die Besonderheit ist die generative Vermehrung der Agaven, also aus Samen. So werden Monokulturen vermieden und die Lebensgrundlage der Bestäuber, nämlich Fledermäuse, erhalten. Die Arbeit orientiert sich am Betrieb Botanischer Gärten und wird von einem Biologen begleitet. Sie finanziert sich aus Spenden und den Beiträgen aus den Besuchen der Baumschule durch Touristen.

 

 

Ein Rundgang durch das Proyecto LAM

 

Darüber hinaus ist Real Minero eine der wenigen Brennereien, die aktiv Nachwuchs ausbildet.

 

Das Familienmotto: „porque sólo lo auténtico perdura“ – Denn nur das Echte überdauert!

 

Real Minero im SHOP

 

Real Minero im Netz:

Home

Maps

Street View

 

Artikel

Mezcal Reviews

The Guardian (mit Film)

Fotograf Salvador Cueva

Mezcal PHD auf Brennereibesuch

Vogue Mexico über Graciela

Food & Wine über Graciela und andere Frauen im Mezcalgeschäft

 

Bild & Ton

Video von GuildSomm u.a. mit Lorenzo Ángeles (engl./ 10 Min.)

privates Video über die Brennerei (span./ 30min)

Video der Vogue über Graciela und Frauen in der Brennerei (span./ 2min)

Videointerview mit Lorenzo Ángeles im Jahr 2017 (span./ 30min)

Showdevie Podcast mit Graciela Ángeles (engl./ )

 

Weitere Projekte

Proyecto Lorenzo Ángeles Mendoza (LAM)

Biblioteca El Rosario

Film zur Bibliothek