Mezonte

...is the project of Pedro Jiménez Gurría from Guadalajara, the capital of Jalisco. For over a decade, Pedro has been curating extremely small productions of agave distillates and pouring them at his bar, Pare de Sufrir, or at the Mezonte Tasting Room.

 

Every now and then, small quantities are exported. To the USA via David Suro of Siembra Spirits or to us. Formally, Mezonte is a non-profit NGO dedicated to the preservation of autochthonous agave distillates.

 

These Mezcals are produced by families in Jalisco and Michoacan. And since these people live in very traditional conditions, even by “Mezcal standards”, the agreement under which Pedro buys their distillates is very strictly regulated. Always a part of each production remains locally, prices are set jointly and maximum transparency on all aspects is provided to the buyer.

 

Exceptions to this are the Tepe productions, as the producers from the Tepehuanos ethnic group prefer to have little contact with the western world.

 

We provide here only a picture and some text about each producer and link to the profiles of the Mezonte site.

 

SANTOS JUÁREZ (Destilado)

 

A peculiarity of Santos' spirits is the fermentation in pits carved into the volcanic bedrock. These were buried under a landslide, so it is not known when they were made. They produce a decidedly mineral flavor in the Mezcal. Santos processes 10 different types of agave.

 

 

JORGE PEREZ (Destilado)

 

Jorge processes exclusively Agave inaequidens (Alto), which produces only 30 to 40 liters of distillate per ton of agave, about half of other agave species. The mash is prepared with pulque (fermented agave juice).

 

 

HILDEGARDO „JAPO“ JOYA (Raicilla)

 

Japo is around 90 years old and one of the last of his generation still producing Raicilla. He processes three agaves: Verde, Amarillo and Cenizo. Both the cooking process and the fermentation take an extremely long time, which is why Japo's brandies turn out very “funky”.

 

 

CÁNDIDO ROMERO (Destilado)

 

Cande processes only fully ripe Ixtero agave with an age of 16 years. He follows the instructions handed down from his grandfather to the word.

 

 

ACIANO ROMERO (Tepe) & ANTONIO FLORES (Tepe)

 

Aciano and Antonio belong to the Tepehuanos ethnic group, which produces Mezcal for religious purposes. In addition, they sell (what is not needed) to Pedro for Mezonte. They process three types: Masparillo, Castilla and Cenizo.

 

 

 

All Mezonte in SHOP

 

Mezonte on the Web:

Home

Maps (Mezonte Tasting Room)

 

Articles

Blog of K&L Wines, CA

Mezcal Reviews

 

Image & Sound

Viva Mezcal! – Pedro's great film about traditional mezcal (span./ engl. SUB/ 1h)

Maestros del Mezcal Podcast with Pedro about Mezonte (engl./ 45min)

 

Transparency

Mezonte

…ist das Projekt von Pedro Jiménez Gurría aus Guadalajara, der Hauptstadt Jaliscos. Seit über einem Jahrzehnt kuratiert Pedro extrem kleine Produktionen von Agavendestillaten und schenkt sie in seiner Bar Pare de Sufrir oder im Mezonte Tasting Room aus.

 

Hin und wieder werden auch kleine Mengen exportiert. In die USA über David Suro von Siembra Spirits oder eben zu uns. Formal ist Mezonte eine gemeinnützige NGO, die sich dem Erhalt autochthoner Agavendestillate widmet.

 

Hergestellt werden diese Mezcals von Familien in Jalisco und Michoacan. Und da diese Leute selbst für „Mezcalverhältnisse“ in sehr tradierten Verhältnissen leben, ist die Übereinkunft, unter denen Pedro ihre Destillate kauft, sehr streng reguliert. Stets verbleibt ein Teil jeder Produktion vor Ort, Preise werden gemeinsam festgelegt und maximale Transparenz über alle Aspekte für den Käufer bereitgestellt.

 

Ausnahmen sind hierbei die Produktionen des Tepe, da die Produzenten aus der Ethnie der Tepehuanos bevorzugen, wenig Kontakt mit der westlichen Welt zu unterhalten.

 

Wir stellen hier jeweils nur ein Bild und etwas Text zu jedem Hersteller zur Verfügung und verlinken auf die Profile der Mezonte-Seite.

 

SANTOS JUÁREZ (Destilado)

 

Eine Besonderheit von Santos´ Bränden ist die Vergärung in Gruben, die in das anstehende Vulkangestein gehauen wurden. Diese waren unter einem Erdrutsch verschüttet, weshalb man nicht weiß, wann sie hergestellt wurden. Sie erzeugen einen dezidiert mineralischen Geschmack im Mezcal. Santos verarbeitet 10 verschiedene Agavenarten.

 

 

JORGE PEREZ (Destilado)

 

Jorge verarbeitet ausschließlich Agave inaequidens (Alto), welche lediglich 30 bis 40 Liter Destillat pro Tonne Agaven erzeugt, also ungefähr die Hälfte andere Agavenarten. Die Maische wird mit pulque (vergorenem Agavensaft) angesetzt.

 

 

HILDEGARDO „JAPO“ JOYA (Raicilla)

 

Japo ist um die 90 Jahre alt und einer der letzten seiner Generation, die noch Raicilla brennen. Er verarbeitet drei Agaven: Verde, Amarillo und Cenizo. Dabei dauert sowohl der Kochvorgang als auch die Gärung extrem lange, weshalb Japos Brände sehr „funky“ ausfallen.

 

 

CÁNDIDO ROMERO (Destilado)

 

Cande verarbeitet ausschließlich vollreife Ixtero-Agave mit einem Alter von 16 Jahren. Er folgt dabei den überlieferten Anweisungen seines Großvaters auf das Wort.

 

 

ACIANO ROMERO (Tepe) & ANTONIO FLORES (Tepe)

 

Aciano und Antonio gehören der Ethnie der Tepehuanos an, welche Mezcal für religiöse Zwecke herstellt. Darüber hinaus verkaufen sie (was nicht benötigt wird) an Pedro für Mezonte. Sie verarbeiten drei Arten: Masparillo, Castilla und Cenizo.

 

 

 

Alle Mezontes im SHOP

 

Mezonte im Netz:

Home

Maps (Mezonte Tasting Room)

 

Artikel

Blog von K&L Wines, CA

Mezcal Reviews

 

Bild & Ton

Viva Mezcal! – Pedros großartiger Film über traditionellen Mezcal (span./ engl.UT/ 1h)

Maestros del Mezcal Podcast mit Pedro über Mezonte (engl./ 45min)

 

Transparenz