Tequila Cascahuín

...is the brand of the Rosales family from El Arenal, Jalisco and exists since the 50s. However, they have been distilling their own Tequila since 1904. Typical lowland Tequilas are produced at Cascahuín and the area is one of the oldest agave growing areas in the Tequila region. The nearby mountain gives the distillery its name and is featured on the label. Cascahuín means “mountain of light” because large deposits of ore in the ground attract lightning during thunderstorms.

 

 

Tequila Cascahuín has become the insider tip of the up-and-coming bar and cocktail scene in Jalisco's capital Guadalajara (and among Tequila freaks in the U.S.) in recent years, after the Rosales decided to focus more on craftsmanship and time-honored techniques again, setting themselves apart from the brands of international spirits conglomerates. In addition to their own brand, Siembra Valles, David Suro's brand, is also produced here.

 

The current distillery was built in 1955 by Salvador Rosales Briseño, followed by his son Salvador Rosales Torres and now his grandson Salvador "Chava" Rosales Trejo. In addition to the two Salvadors, the team includes Chava's sister Tere (Finance) and Daniel Ocampo (Technical Director). Also, Tetsu Shady, a bartender from Japan who has been a brand ambassador since 2015.

 

 

Cascahuín has the standard equipment of a medium-sized tequila distillery: the cooking process takes place with steam in masonry ovens, so-called hornos. Crushing of the agave with roller mill. The fermentation process is carried out either with or without fibers. In order to revive the traditional methods, some time ago a tahona was acquired, the traditional mill wheel made of volcanic stone, which gives the distillates a different flavor profile than the usual milling methods. All the spirits are double distilled using the pot still method. And for the Tequila Ancestral, a production line with earth oven and wood-copper pot still was set up, as is customary for Mezcal.

 

 

Tequila Cascahuín in SHOP

Tequila Siembra Valles in SHOP

 

Tequila Cascahuín on the Web:

Home

Maps

Street View

 

Articles

Distillery on Tequila Matchmaker

Products on Tequila Matchmaker

Tequila Cascahuín

…ist die Marke der Familie Rosales aus El Arenal, Jalisco und besteht seit den 50er Jahren. Sie brennen allerdings schon seit 1904 eigenen Tequila. Bei Cascahuín werden typische Tiefland-Tequilas produziert und das Gebiet gehört zu den ältesten Agavenanbauflächen in der Tequilaregion. Der nahe gelegene Berg gibt der Brennerei ihren Namen und ist auf dem Etikett zu sehen. Cascahuín bedeutet „Berg des Lichtes“, da große Vorkommen an Erzen im Boden bei Gewittern die Blitze anziehen.

 

 

Tequila Cascahuín hat sich den letzten Jahren zum Geheimtipp der aufstrebenden Bar- und Cocktailszene in Jaliscos Hauptstadt Guadalajara (und den Tequila-Freaks in den USA) entwickelt, nachdem sich die Rosales entschlossen, wieder vermehrt auf Handwerk und althergebrachte Techniken zu setzen und sich so von den Marken der internationalen Spirituosenkonzerne abzugrenzen. Neben ihrer eigenen Marke wird hier auch Siembra Valles, die Marke von David Suro, produziert.

 

Die heutige Brennerei wurde 1955 von Salvador Rosales Briseño erbaut, ihm folgte sein Sohn Salvador Rosales Torres und nunmehr sein Enkel Salvador „Chava“ Rosales Trejo. Neben den beiden Salvadors gehört Chavas Schwester Tere (Finanzen) und Daniel Ocampo (Technische Leitung) zum Team. Außerdem noch Tetsu Shady, ein Bartender aus Japan, der seit 2015 als Markenbotschafter dabei ist.

 

 

Cascahuín verfügt über das Standard-Equipment einer mittelständischen Tequila-Brennerei: Der Kochvorgang erfolgt mit Wasserdampf in Mauerwerksöfen, sogenannten hornos. Zerkleinerung der Agaven mit roller mill. Es wird wahlweise mit und ohne Fasern in der Gärung gearbeitet. Um die traditionellen Methoden wieder aufzugreifen, wurde vor einiger Zeit eine tahona angeschafft, das traditionelle Mühlrad aus Vulkangestein, welches den Destillaten ein anderes Geschmacksprofil verleiht als die herkömmlichen Mahlverfahren. Alle Brände werden im Pot Still-Verfahren doppelt destilliert. Und für den Tequila Ancestral wurde eine Produktionsstrasse mit Erdofen und Holz-Kupfer-Pot-Still eingerichtet, wie sie bei Mezcal üblich ist.

 

 

Tequila Cascahuín im SHOP

Tequila Siembra Valles im SHOP

 

Tequila Cascahuín im Netz:

Home

Maps

Street View

 

Artikel

Tequilareviewer auf Brennereibesuch

Brennerei auf Tequila Matchmaker

Produkte auf Tequila Matchmaker