Mezcal Alipús San Juan del Rio

...has been produced since 2000 by the Juan family in San Juan del Rio, in the district of Tlacolula. This makes it the "longest serving" family bottling under the Alipús label.

 

 

 

Initially produced by Don Joel Antonio Cruz (✝2018), over time his sons Joel, René y Abelio Antonio Juan took over the distillery. In 2013, their cousin Rodolfo Juan Juárez joined them. Instead of converting the existing distillery for more capacity, Rodolfo's directly adjacent distillery was added as a second production facility. This allows the increasing demand to be met without changing the methods or the product.

 

 

 

San Juan del Rio is one of the most famous places for mezcal in Oaxaca. It stretches on steep slopes for several hundred meters in altitude and has countless palenques. The agave fields are located above the town on plateaus of the Sierra Madre at about 1500 meters.

 

 

 

All Mezcal Alipús in SHOP

 

Mezcal Alipús San Juan on the Web:

Home

Maps

 

Image & Sound

Interview with Joel Jr. and Rodolfo (span./ 1min)

 

The Mezcal Alipús Project

What appears at first glance to be a normal Mezcal brand is in fact a very successful social project that has been in existence since 2000. The umbrella brand Mezcal Alipús, under which nine families now bottle their products, is owned by Grupo Los Danzantes, who run the restaurants of the same name and have their own distillery and mezcal brand. The starting point was to be able to offer traditional Mezcal of different terroirs of the region in the restaurants.

 

 

 

There are no binding contracts between Los Danzantes and the distillers, which is why the latter enjoy maximum freedom to work with other brands, for example, or to set up their own - although no producer has yet abandoned the collaboration. Prices are regularly renegotiated, and these are normally 20% higher than the usual market price in the region. There are projections and targets, depending on what happens in the market, rather than binding agreements. The smaller producers receive advance payments to prefinance production. The producers meet at least once a year at the invitation of Los Danzantes for workshops and exchange of experiences.

 

The production team of Destilería Los Danzantes and the administration of the company support the producers with the following measures:

  • Technical improvements in the distillery, e.g. hygiene and safety.
  • Setting uniform standards for production
  • Assistance with certification by the Consejo Regulador del Mezcal
  • Assistance with formal procedures such as tax and banking transactions
  • “Best practices” in agriculture. No chemicals should be used in agave cultivation or production.

 

For the sake of understanding, it should be mentioned here that in most of the producer families Zapotec is spoken as a mother tongue and some of the older members do not know Spanish, accordingly they cannot read or write. A technical and cultural “bridge”, such as the one offered by Los Danzantes, is therefore essential to guarantee the sovereignty of the producers over their product and its marketing.

 

The production sites of the different Mezcals are located between four to six hours by car from Oaxaca city. The Mezcal is transported in tanks from there to the Los Danzantes bottling plant in the valley of Tlacolula, since transporting glass bottles (first empty, then filled) over the poor dirt roads that connect the towns to the main roads is impractical. At the bottling plant, the distillates are bottled, labeled and packaged.

 

All Mezcal Alipús in SHOP

Mezcal Alipús San Juan del Rio

…wird seit dem Jahr 2000 von der Familie Juan in San Juan del Rio im Distrikt Tlacolula hergestellt. Sie ist damit die „dienstälteste“ Familie, die unter dem Alipús-Etikett abfüllt.

 

 

 

Zunächst von Don Joel Antonio Cruz produziert (✝2018), übernahmen im Laufe der Zeit dessen Söhne Joel, René y Abelio Antonio Juan die Brennerei. 2013 kam deren Cousin Rodolfo Juan Juárez hinzu. Statt die existierende Destille für mehr Kapazität umzubauen, wurde Rodolfos direkt angrenzende Brennerei als zweite Produktionsstätte hinzugefügt. So kann die steigende Nachfrage bedient werden, ohne die Methoden bzw das Produkt zu verändern.

 

 

 

San Juan del Rio ist einer der bekanntesten Orte für Mezcal in Oaxaca. Er erstreckt sich an steilen Hängen über mehrere hundert Höhenmeter und besitzt unzählige palenques. Die Agavenfelder liegen oberhalb des Ortes auf Plateaus der Sierra Madre auf rund 1500 Metern.

 

 

 

Alle Mezcal Alipús im SHOP

 

Mezcal Alipús San Juan im Netz:

Home

Maps

 

Bild & Ton

Interview mit Joel Jr. und Rodolfo (span./ 1min)

 

Das Projekt Mezcal Alipús

Was auf den ersten Blick wie eine normale Mezcal-Marke erscheint, ist in Wirklichkeit ein sehr erfolgreiches Sozialprojekt, welches seit dem Jahr 2000 existiert. Die Dachmarke Alipús, unter der mittlerweile neun Familien ihre Produkte abfüllen, ist im Besitz der Grupo Los Danzantes, die die gleichnamigen Restaurants betreiben und eigene Brennerei und Marke haben. Ausgangspunkt war, traditionellen Mezcal verschiedener Terroirs der Region in den Restaurants anbieten zu können.

 

 

 

Es gibt keine verbindlichen Verträge zwischen Los Danzantes und den Brennern, weshalb diese maximale Freiheit genießen, um beispielsweise mit anderen Marken zu arbeiten oder eine eigene zu gründen – wobei bisher noch kein Produzent die Zusammenarbeit aufgegeben hat. Die Preise werden regelmäßig neu verhandelt, diese liegen in der Regel 20% über dem üblichen Marktpreis in der Region. Es gibt Vorausschauen und Ziele, abhängig vom Marktgeschehen, statt verbindlicher Vereinbarungen. Die kleineren Produzenten erhalten Vorauszahlungen, um die Produktion vorzufinanzieren. Die Produzenten treffen sich auf Einladung von Los Danzantes mindestens einmal jährlich zu Workshops und Erfahrungsaustausch.

 

Das Produktionsteam der Destilería Los Danzantes und die Administration des Unternehmens unterstützen die Produzenten mit folgenden Maßnahmen:

 

  • Technische Verbesserungen in der Brennerei, z.B. Hygiene und Sicherheit
  • Einheitliche Standards für die Produktion festlegen
  • Beistand bei Zertifizierung durch das Consejo Regulador del Mezcal
  • Hilfe bei formalen Vorgängen wie Steuer- und Bankgeschäfte
  • „Best practices“ in der Landwirtschaft. Es sollen keine Chemikalien bei Agavenanbau oder Produktion zur Anwendung kommen.

 

Zum Verständnis soll hier erwähnt werden, dass in den meisten Produzentenfamilien Zapotekisch als Muttersprache gesprochen wird und einige der älteren Mitglieder kein Spanisch können, entsprechend können sie auch nicht lesen oder schreiben. Eine technische und kulturelle „Brücke“, wie sie von Los Danzantes geboten wird, ist also essentiell, um die Souveränität der Produzenten über ihr Produkt und dessen Vermarktung zu gewährleisten.

 

Die Produktionsorte der verschiedenen Mezcals liegen zwischen vier bis sechs Autostunden von Oaxaca Stadt entfernt. Der Mezcal wird in Tanks von dort in die Abfüllerei von Los Danzantes im Tal von Tlacolula gebracht, da der Transport von Glasflaschen (zunächst leer, dann befüllt) über die schlechten Schotterpisten, welche die Orte mit den Hauptstraßen verbindet, nicht praktikabel ist. In der Abfüllerei werden die Destillate abgefüllt, etikettiert und verpackt.

 

Alle Mezcal Alipús im SHOP